An advice :-)

Dear participants,

Remember that recommended poster size is B2, vertical orientation. We will not accept other sizes!


Due to numerous inquiries regarding the extension of time to submit applications, we have set a new deadline.

👉 The FINAL DEADLINE 30/06/2019 ‼️

After this date we no longer accept applications. If you have not yet registered, you have the last chance! ✍️❗️


We would like to invite you to the 12th Geosymposium of Young Researchers “Silesia 2019”. The Conference will be held from 2nd to 4th September 2019 in Tarnowskie Góry, Upper Silesia, Poland.

Geosymposium is an international conference devoted to young scientists, PhD students and young doctors interested in Earth sciences. The conference has interdisciplinary character, thanks to which it provides an excellent platform for the presentation of research results in the field of geology, geophysics, geography and environmental protection. It is organized each autumn by Faculty of Earth Sciences of the University of Silesia in Katowice.

In this year we are planning to perform following sessions:

► Structural Geology
► Petrology, Mineralogy and Geochemistry
► Paleontology
► Hydrogeology
► Near Surface Geophysics
► Petroleum Geophysics
► Physical Geography, Landscape Ecology
► GIS, Remote Sensing and Cartography
► Polar Studies ⟡ Environmental Protection

Registration fee is 120 EUR – the fee includes:

► conference materials,
► accommodation in a hotel (2nd/3th September, 3th/4th September),
► full board (2 x breakfasts, 3 x lunches and 2 x dinners),
► coffee breaks,
► field trip (Historic Silver Mine, Black Trout Adit and Open Air Steam Engine Museum in Tarnowskie Góry)

The fee should be paid by bank transfer (more info:

The conference language is English (PowerPoint slides in oral presentations and posters should be written in English). Please take into account the forms of presentation: only 1 oral presentation and max 2 posters are possible.

Registration and abstract submission and author guidelines will be available soon.

Deadline for registration, abstract submission and payment is 31st May 2019.

Scientific Board:

► Małgorzata Błaszczyk PhD
► Sabina Jakóbczyk-Karpierz PhD
► Sławomir Kędzior PhD
► Maciej Mendecki PhD
► Katarzyna Pukowiec-Kurda PhD
► Michał Rakociński PhD
► Justyna Smolarek-Lach PhD
► Krzysztof Szopa PhD
► Jacek Szczygieł PhD
► Bartłomiej Szypuła PhD
► Małgorzata Wistuba PhD

More detailed information will be sent with the Second Circular.

We are looking forward to seeing you!

Organizing committee:

Anna Abramowicz

Agnieszka Bracławska

Aleksander Brom

Dorota Fiedor

Marcelina Kondas

Kinga Ślósarczyk